Over the weekend national holidays for 2021 and 2022 was announced by the UAE cabinet following a meeting chaired by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, the Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and the Ruler of Dubai.

His Highness approved the holidays for the following two years for both public and private sector employees.

This decision, according to Sheikh Mohammed, is to streamline the work in both sectors, as well as being able to give UAE citizens and residents a longer lead time to plan holidays.

The holiday dates for 2021 and 2022 are as follows.


  • January 1: New Year
  • 29 Ramadan to 3 Shawwal: Eid Al Fitr
  • 9 Zul Hijjah: Arafah Day
  • 10 to 12 Zul Hijjah: Eid Al Adha
  • August 12: Islamic New Year
  • October 21: Prophet Mohammed’s (PBUH) birthday
  • December 1: Commemoration Day
  • December 2 and 3: National Day


  • January 1: New Year
  • Ramadan 29 to Shawwal 3: Eid Al Fitr
  • Zul Hijjah 9: Arafah Day
  • Zul Hijjah 10 to 12: Eid Al Adha
  • July 30: Islamic New Year
  • October 8: Prophet Muhammad’s (PBUH) birthday
  • December 1: Commemoration Day
  • December 2 and 3: UAE National Day

– For more on luxury lifestyle, news, fashion and beauty follow Emirates Woman on Facebook and Instagram

Feature Image: Unsplash