If you’re intending to travel from the UAE to the UK soon, there’s some new updates you need to know about.

It’s been announced by the UK government that all travellers going to the UK from any country – whether they be visitors or British citizens – must ensure they have a negative COVID-19 PCR test which has been done within 72 hours.

These changes have come following an increasing number of cases in the UK due to a new reported strain of the virus which can spread more quickly.

For those travelling, if you are found without a negative COVID-19 test result will be given an immediate £500 fine.

While those travelling to the UK from other countries still face a 14-day quarantine time, this does not apply to the UAE. A travel corridor between the UAE and the UK officially opened back in November.

COVID-19 testing requirements to enter Dubai

Towards the end of last year, it was confirmed by Dubai-based airline Emirates that all tourists from the UK and Germany can be tested upon arrival at Dubai airport.

For the following countries, the below rules apply: Algeria, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kirgizstan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives Islands, Mauritius, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States (New York, Washington DC, Boston, Chicago, Seattle).

  • For UAE residents, they are able to present a negative COVID-19 PCR test which is valid 96 hours before the date of departure or can simply be tested upon arrival into Dubai.
  • Tourists need to present a negative COVID-19 test which is valid 96 hours before the date of departure. However, those coming from Germany and the UK can opt for a COVID-19 PCR test upon arrival in Dubai.
  • Those who are transiting passengers from the above countries are not required to present a COVID-19 PCR test certificate unless it is mandated by your final destination.

For the remaining countries the below rules apply: Afghanistan, Angola, Argentina, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Chile, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Senegal, Slovakia, Somaliland, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United States (California, Florida, Texas), Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

  • Two COVID-19 tests are required for UAE residents – one 96 hours before the departure date and a second upon arrival in Dubai.
  • Two COVID-19 tests are required for tourists – one 96 hours before the departure date and a second upon arrival in Dubai.
  • Transiting passengers from these countries must have a negative COVID‑19 PCR test certificate that is valid for 96 hours from the date of the test, as well as any requirements for their final destination.

It should be noted that a PCR test is required and you need to have a printed verification in English or Arabic – SMS or digital versions will not be accepted.

– For more on luxury lifestyle, news, fashion and beauty follow Emirates Woman on Facebook and Instagram

Feature Image: Rimowa Instagram