All UAE citizens have been urged who are currently abroad have been urged to return to the country amidst the global spread of coronavirus.

Travel restrictions are increasing worldwide with some countries closing their borders including Saudi Arabia, Germany and Switzerland.

For those citizens and students who are currently travelling or abroad and feeling unwell, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation (MoFAIC) has advised to contact and cooperate with the UAE embassy in the country they are currently in.

Additionally, UAE nationals are encouraged to coordinate with UAE diplomatic missions overseas, or contact MoFAIC on this number: 80044444.

UAE citizens and residents have also been advised not to travel out of the country unless absolutely essential.

Changes to UAE entry visas

Restrictions have also been made on entry visas to the UAE. As of today, March 17, al entry visas to the United Arab Emirates are to be suspended.

In a statement issued by the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship, the organisation said the decision has been made as a precautionary measure in order to contain the spread of coronavirus. This comes after the World Health Organisation announced the spread of the outbreak was now considered a pandemic.

“The ICA affirms that the decision stems from the UAE’s deep sense of responsibility and diligent efforts in collaboration with other countries of the world to fight the coronavirus pandemic and survive this ongoing crisis,” the statement added.

There is no firm date as to when the suspension will be lifted, but it will reportedly stay in effect until the implementation of medical screening measurements for those arriving in the UAE.

GCC Residents Require E-Visa To Visit The UAE

However, following the statement from the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship, Dubai Airports issued their own statement clarifying the changes to entry visas stating that some countries are exempt from the. suspension.

“Effective March 17, UAE authorities have temporarily suspended the issuance of all entry visas,” the statement on the Dubai Airports website said. “This does not apply to those passengers holding diplomatic passports or those who have had visas issued prior to March 17.

“It also does not apply to passengers who hold passports from the following countries. These passengers can continue to travel to and from the UAE although may be subject to additional screening.”

People from these countries are exempt from the visa ban: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy (from Rome only), Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Vatican, United Kingdom and the United States of America.

More information on coronavirus:

– For more about Dubai’s lifestyle, news and fashion scene straight to your newsfeed, follow us on Facebook 

Images: Instagram