Last week it was announced that all passengers coming to the UAE will require a certificate showing that they are clear of COVID-19 before travelling. This initiative will come into play on August 1, however it is now been revealed that 29 countries will need to undergo an additional test upon arrival in Dubai.

These countries have been selected for the high number of new daily cases or the lack of recognised testing centres. The passengers will have to undergo a PCR swab test (nasal swab) when they land from August 1 onwards.

The list was released by Dubai Airports and Emirates:

  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Lebanon
  • Nigeria
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Armenia
  • Montenegro
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Pakistan
  • The Philippines
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Brazil
  • US (Dallas Fort Worth, Houston, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Fort Lauderdaleand Orlando, including passengers originating from California, Florida and Texas who connect to an Emirates flight from any airport to Dubai)

Once tested, travellers must self-isolate until they receive their results. No other visitors will require further testing when landing in Dubai from August 1, but everyone still has to download the COVID19 – DXB Smart App if they land in Dubai, or Al Hosn app if they arrive elsewhere in the UAE.

Testing on arrival will continue for all passengers in Abu Dhabi and the Northern Emirates.

– For more about Dubai’s lifestyle, news and fashion scene follow Emirates Woman on Facebook and Instagram

Feature Image: Instagram